Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

The absurdity of OhmHours in a net-negative situation

darelldddarelldd Posts: 3Member
edited January 2018 in Solar Users

I really want to like this system, and help make energy production more efficient and cleaner. But because I've already invested so heavily in energy savings, The ohmconnect system for me is frustrating at best, and a deterrent to energy saving at worst.

My home is a net-negative electricity consumer. I'm a producer. All year, every month (though not every hour or even every day). So far, almost every one of my forecasts have been negative. And to beat a negative forecast, I have to be MORE negative, of course. And many times, that is simply impossible. Not difficult. Impossible.

(I should point out how amusing my status bars are: I typically need a larger status bar (more negative) to show that I've beaten my forecast of a shorter status bar (less negative) except for those rare times when ohmhours are set when my forecast is positive consumption, in which case my status bar needs to be shorter than the forecast bar. So... most days my status bar needs to be longer than the forecast in order to win, and sometimes it needs to be shorter. It is confusing and crazy, and impossible to take in at a glance).