Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Ohm hours

felicheeksfelicheeks HaywardPosts: 3Member
Remember...there are no dumb questions...and I am very new to this.

My whole family is in on this "flipping the breaker off and saving" but where can I find and adjust MY Ohm hours? How do I report when we're doing it?

Answers

• John KJohn K Lake Forest - Hikers and Bikers TeamPosts: 585Member

@felicheeks said:
    Remember...there are no dumb questions...and I am very new to this.

My whole family is in on this "flipping the breaker off and saving" but where can I find and adjust MY Ohm hours? How do I report when we're doing it?

Before jumping on the bandwagon, you might want to check whether your breakers are rated for "switching duty." If they are, they will be marked with the abbreviation "SWD". At least until OC answers my question under a previous thread as to whether they've contacted any of the big breaker manufacturers and asked their opinion of recommending the use of breakers as switches, I'd be a bit reluctant.

You adjust the time during which you are willing to accept OhmHours under the Settings for the main site.

I'm not sure I understand your question, "How do I report when we're doing it?"

• cwiedcwied San MateoPosts: 131Member

You don't pick your OhmHours yourself. You can say when you're available and then when demand reduction is needed (profitable), OhmConnect will notify you of the day and time of the OhmHour. Usually you get 25 hours notice, although it is also possible to have OhmHours on shorter notice in certain regions.

Note that the baseline used to calculate your reward is based on previous usage, so paradoxically reducing your usage on days when there isn't an OhmHour reduces your reward.

• The Little Ohmer TwinsThe Little Ohmer Twins Union CityPosts: 1,014Moderator
    @cwohmcon the baseline does not include Ohmhours.
  • cwiedcwied San MateoPosts: 131Member