Examples: Monday, today, last week, Mar 26, 3/26/04

Why did my "forecasted usage" change dramatically?

tylerjohnbtylerjohnb Posts: 2Member
edited February 15 in General Discussion
I noticed the "forecasted" usage during my last two ohmhours have drastically decreased, making it extremely difficult to stay under. Any reason for this?

Comments

• ljwellmeljwellme Posts: 1Member
    I noticed this also. I am new to this. I've participated in 2 so far. My first forecasted use was something like 1.1kwph I was able to get my usage down to 0.63kwsph. On my second one my forecasted use had dropped down to 0.73. I wasn't sure if it was common because as I said, i haven't been doing this long.
  • AKPsi VinceAKPsi Vince Union CityPosts: 979Moderator
    This blog post should give you a better sense how the forecast is determined and why it can change.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/blog.ohmconnect.com/2016/08/17/your-forecast/amp/
  • Same. Plus I like how I had reached a 9 in a row streak which (I guess) adds a 45% bonus to the next one...and my forecast for that next one was 0.17. kidding me? Figures. If I opted out I would start over completely...but there is literally no way to save on that forecast. Bad luck.

@Heather R. Weather for super savers like us, it's hard to save consistently during an OH because we're already using so little. But look at it this way - your low consumption is reflected in the lower monthly bills you get compared to others who are not super savers.

For a lot of people, making an extra effort to do their part to save energy, reduce green house gases and preserve the environment is a good enough incentive and it doesn't matter to them how much or little money they earn and saving even the littlest amount is a success.